Awards and Recognition

The 2022 Award Winners

Family Physician of the Year

Erika Roshanravan, MD

Educator of the Year

Ecler E. Jaqua, MD

Residents of the Year

Nadine Grace-Abraham, MD & Juliana Jones, MD

Hero of Family Medicine

Alex McDonald, MD

Champion of Family Medicine

State Assemblymember Cecilia Aguiar-Curry

Award Descriptions


Family Physician of the Year

The California Academy of Family Physicians presents this prestigious award to an individual who exhibits the finest qualities of family physicians and who goes above and beyond in service to patients and community.

Barbara Harris Award for Educational Excellence

This award recognizes educational excellence in the field of family medicine. Criteria for the award include advances in education in the field of family medicine; excellence in family medicine teaching in medical schools, residency programs or post‐graduate CME. 

Family Medicine Resident of the Year

The California Family Medicine Resident of the Year award is given a resident who represents the finest characteristics of family medicine.

Hero of Family Medicine

The CAFP Hero of Family Medicine Award goes to the family physician who has represented our specialty, our profession and our patients so strongly that we bestow the title ‘hero.’ The award winner has gone above and beyond the call of duty to advocate for his or her patients, practice family physician colleagues and family medicine.

Champion of Family Medicine

The CAFP Champion of Family Medicine Award goes to the legislator or leader who has exemplified courage and empathy for patients, and demonstrated leadership, commitment and dedication to the cause of advocating for family medicine and primary care on behalf of patients.

Foundation Philanthropist of the Year

The Philanthropist of the Year Award is presented to an individual (or couple) with a proven record of exceptional generosity who, through direct financial support, has demonstrated outstanding civic and charitable responsibility, and whose generosity encourages others to take philanthropic leadership roles on a community, state and/or national level. 

Foundation Preceptor of the Year

The Foundation Preceptor of the Year award honors family physicians who precept and mentor our future generations. 

Connect with your local CAFP chapter

Find fellow family physicians in your neighborhood.
(415) 345-8667
816 21st Street, Sacramento, CA 95811
© 2019-2024 California Academy of Family Physicians. All Rights Reserved.
link to
link to AAFP website
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram