The Susan Hogeland CAE Health Policy Fellowship

The Susan Hogeland, CAE Health Policy Fellowship identifies and supports promising medical students and family medicine residents committed to family medicine advocacy. Its goal is to increase the number and quality of family medicine physicians trained in health care policy at the state and federal level by awarding scholarships to deserving medical students and residents to participate in family medicine policy creation and advocacy.

The Fellowship is endowed by the CAFP Foundation to foster generations family physicians from a wide variety of backgrounds and institutions whose leadership will inform and influence policy in California for decades to come. The Fellowship engages future family physicians in crafting comprehensive positive health policies for the betterment of family physicians and patients in California.

Our Fellows gain access to the tools, insights and diversity of mentors needed to accelerate and distinguish their advocacy activities. Because pursuing a medical degree and graduating from a residency program is intense and time-consuming in and of itself, the Fellowship provides an annual stipend to support participation in activities over the course of a year. Alumni from the Fellowship carry the unique distinction of being a Susan Hogeland, CAE Health Policy Fellow, joining a tightly knit network of visionary change agents across California.

Fellowships will be awarded annually to one medical student and one family medicine resident physician who have demonstrated their commitment to family medicine and interest in learning about and advocating for family medicine-driven health policy. The program’s stipends are intended to subsidize attendance and participation in CAFP and AAFP policy and advocacy events and activities.

Not Accepting Applications

Thank you for your interest in the Susan Hogeland Health Policy Fellowship - it is on hold until further notice. We are in the process of revamping this program so that it continues to be a meaningful experience for students and residents. 

2020-2021 Fellows

Amy Komure, MD, MPH

2020-2021 Fellow
Amy is a PGY3 at the Long Beach Memorial FM Residency Program and will graduate in June 2021. She is chief resident this year. Amy attended USC-Keck School of medicine for both her medical and MPH degrees. She also completed a residency fellowship in health policy at George Washington University.

Anna Askari, MD, MSBS

2020-2021 Fellow
Anna is a PGY3 at the Eisenhower Health FM Residency Program and will graduate in June 2021. She attended Ohio State University School of Medicine and earned her MSBS at the University of Toledo, College of Medicine. Anna is co-chair of the CAFP Student and Resident Council and was recently elected as the family medicine resident member of the American Academy of Family Physicians Board of Directors.

Hannah Dragomanovich

2020-2021 Fellow
Hannah is a 4th-year medical student at Touro University college of Osteopathic Medicine, and will graduate in June 2021. She has been actively engaged in research activities, is a member of the CAFP’s Student and Resident Council, and is the Advocacy chair for the Napa-Solano CAFP chapter.

2019 Fellows


2019 Fellow
Dr. Scrubb received her Doctor of Medicine degree from the David Geffen School of Medicine and PRIME Program at the University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA) and the Charles R. Drew University of Medicine and Science in Los Angeles. She earned a Master of Public Policy degree from UCLA’s Luskin School of Public Affairs and a Bachelor of Arts degree from UC Berkeley in comparative literature.

JESSICA FARMER, USC Keck School of Medicine

2019 Fellow
Jessica Farmer is a fourth-year medical student at the University of Southern California (USC) Keck School of Medicine, where she also is completing a Master of Public Health degree. She earned her Bachelor of Science degree from UC Berkeley in microbial biology.

Fellowship Activities

  • Attend CAFP’s All Member Advocacy Meeting and Lobby Day, Sacramento
  • Attend AAFP’s Family Medicine Advocacy Summit (Date TBD), Washington DC, OR AAFP’s State Legislative Conference (Date and Location TBD)
  • Spend two days shadowing CAFP Lobbyist (Sacramento), CAFP Director of Legislative Affairs or Director of Health Policy (San Francisco)
  • Participate in a selection of CAFP’s Legislative Affairs Committee (LAC) or Committee on Health of the Public (CHOP) activities
  • Complete work on a policy project to be presented at one of several CAFP venues.

Susan Hogeland served as the Executive Vice President of the California Academy of Family Physicians for 27 years. 

Susan started her career in advocacy and health policy in the office of US Senator Everett Dirksen. She worked as a federal legislative analyst with the California Medical Association, then became Assistant Executive Director of the San Francisco Medical Society, overseeing all policy and advocacy work of the SFMS. In 1991, she became the Executive Vice President of the California Academy of Family Physicians. Susan is an incredible leader and saw the Academy through almost three decades of growth, change, and challenge – lead us with energy, commitment, expertise, heart and vision. She has built a nationally-recognized organization and staff, shaped leaders, forged relationships, and fought battles for family physicians and their patients.
Susan earned her BA in political science at the University of Maryland and MA in political science at San Francisco State University. Her thesis in public policy, entitled A Case Study of Political Obstacles to California Health Care Workforce Reform, focused on California’s family physician workforce and the Song-Brown Physician Training Program.
The California Academy of Family Physicians and CAFP Foundation established The Susan Hogeland, CAE Health Policy Fellowship on April 14, 2018.

For more information, please contact CAFP at

The Susan Hogeland, CAE Health Policy Fellowship is supported by the California Academy of Family Physicians Foundation.
The following organizations and individuals supported the April 2018 dinner honoring Ms Hogeland and the Fellowship in her name was announced at that dinner.  

Carolyn and Tom Bent Donor Directed Fund
DiMare, Brown, Hicks, Kessler

Horizon Pharmaceuticals
Los Angeles Chapter, CAFP

Sam Blockstock, CAE
Shannon Connolly, MD
Cynthia Cummings, MD
Adam Francis
Carol Havens, MD
Douglas Henley, MD
Shelly Rodrigues, CAE
William Woo, MD

American’s Physicians Group
East Bay Chapter, CAFP
Riverside-San Bernardino Chapter, CAFP
California Medical Association
Sacramento-El Dorado Chapter, CAFP
Susan Hogeland, CAE

Sarah McNeil, MD
Lisa Ward, MD, MScPH, MS
North Carolina Academy of Family Physicians
Len Fromer, MD
Jay Lee, MD, MPH
Robert Bourne, MD
Florida Academy of Family Physicians

Connect with your local CAFP chapter

Find fellow family physicians in your neighborhood.
(415) 345-8667
816 21st Street, Sacramento, CA 95811
© 2019-2024 California Academy of Family Physicians. All Rights Reserved.
link to
link to AAFP website
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram