Skip to main content

Barbara Harris Award for Educational Excellence

Lance Fuchs, MD, 2017 Recipient


This award recognizes educational excellence in the field of family medicine. The Barbara Harris Award was established in 1984 to honor the late Ms. Harris, a former Executive Director. The award was renamed, with an enhanced focus, in 1996. The Award for Educational Excellence in Honor of Barbara Harris highlights achievements in education, a field very important to Ms. Harris.


One individual will be honored annually with this award. The award is presented to an individual working in California who demonstrates excellence in advances in education in the field of family medicine; family medicine teaching in medical schools, residency programs and/or post-graduate CME. The recipient should also be actively engaged in CAFP educational initiatives, from clinical to practice transformation.


The list of winners of this award is long and noteworthy!


It is our honor to present this award to Lance Fuchs. Lance has all of the qualities of a great educator. He is an outstanding clinical teacher. He works with residents and students in numerous settings. He does scholarly projects and teaches his physician colleagues. He is a community leader and activist. Lance has a long list of accomplishments, but what sets him apart is his amazing skill, passion and enthusiasm as a teacher.


Congratulations, Dr. Fuchs.

Past Recipients

2016: Gilberto Granados, MD
2015: Jo Marie Reilly, MD 2005: Margaret McCahill, MD 1995: Hugh Upton, MD
2014: Lauren Simon, MD, MPH 2004: Marianne McKennett, MD 1992: Antonio Velasco, MD
2013: Tom Bent, MD 2003: Timothy A. Munzing, MD 1991: Marcia Sablan, MD
2011: David Bazzo, MD 2002: Ellen Beck, MD 1990: Janet Armour, MD
2010: Cecelia Gutierrez, MD 2001: Francesca Taylor, MD 1989: Joseph Scherger, MD, MPH
2009: Carol S. Havens, MD 2000: Jimmy Hara, MD 1987-88: Ron Smith, MD
2008: Susan Melvin, DO 1999: Alex Sherriffs, MD 1986: Frank Norman, MD
2007:  Peter Sommers, MD 1998: George Kent, MD 1985: Charles Pruess, MD
2006: Michael Prislin, MD 1997: John Dervin, MD