Skip to main content

CAFP Champion of Family Medicine

The CAFP Champion of Family Medicine Award goes to the legislator or leader who has exemplified courage and empathy for patients, and demonstrated leadership, commitment and dedication to the cause of advocating for family medicine and primary care on behalf of patients.


Senator Kevin De León, 2017 Recipient



Pro Tem De León was elected to the Assembly in 2006, and then to the State Senate in 2010. Throughout his tenure in the Legislature and as leader of the State Senate, Senator De León has fought to protect patients and advance public health, championing efforts from pollution reduction to sensible gun control. He has also been a fighter for working class citizens, negotiating with Governor Jerry Brown and the state’s unions to secure a $15 minimum wage in California. Last year he led the charge for the most stringent gun control policies in a generation, including CAFP-supported SB 1235, which requires background checks for anyone who buys or sells ammunition. In two years serving as the Senate’s lead in negotiating the budget, De León has prioritized childcare and education, addressed homelessness, paid down debt, and secured critical investments in health care, including last year’s $100 million appropriation to the Song-Brown Physician Training Act.


Past Recipients

2014: Assemblymember Susan Bonilla 2012: Senate President Pro Tempore Darrell Steinberg
2013: Senator Richard Pan, MD 2011: Insurance Commissioner Dave Jones