Skip to main content

Hero of Family Medicine

Tim Munzing, MD, 2017 Recipient


This award goes to a CAFP member who has gone above and beyond the call of duty to advocate for patients, colleagues and the family medicine specialty. This year's winner of the California Academy of Family Physicians “2017 Hero of Family Medicine Award” is Tim Munzing. Tim Munzing is the Residency Director of the Kaiser Permanente Orange County Family Medicine Residency program.


“Tim is one of the most responsive members I’ve ever encountered at my time with CAFP,” says Adam Francis, CAFP Director of Government Relations. “I’ve called him 15 minutes before a committee hearing to shore up talking points or get his unique perspective on residency training, and he always makes himself available to take my call and help in the effort.” As anyone who has attended CAFP Lobby Day knows, Tim makes sure advocacy is both inside and outside the exam room. He is known for making strong, lasting connections with his local politicians. He has attended countless fundraisers and advocacy events in his region, frequently acting as CAFP’s representative at receptions hosted by Californians Allied for Patient Protection, the state’s leading professional liability Medical Injury Compensation Reform Act organization. CAFP’s Executive Vice President Susan Hogeland says: “Personal ideologies and politics obviously vary among our more than 9,000 members, but Tim puts patients and family medicine first in his advocacy.”


Those of us who have worked with Tim for many years have witnessed his efforts to support the specialty and improve the lives of those in his community. His efforts to grow and strengthen the family physician community through education, advocacy and leadership make him a true family medicine champion and our 2017 Hero of Family Medicine. Congratulations, Tim.


Past Recipients

2016: Lauren Simon, MD, MPH 2013: Catherine Forest, MD 2010: Patricia Samuelson, MD
2015: Ashby Wolfe, MD, MPH, MPP 2012: Eric Ramos, MD 2009: Carla Kakutani, MD
2014: Jeremy Fish, MD 2011: Walt Mills, MD and
Lyman "Bo" Greaves, MD
2008: James T. Hay, MD