Skip to main content

Family Medicine Resident of the Year

Laura Doan, MD, 2017 Recipient


In 2010, the CAFP Foundation bestowed its first Resident of the Year Award to a resident who represents the finest characteristics of family medicine, including a commitment to leadership, communication, mentorship and advocacy. The winner of this award is selected by the CAFP Foundation, based on nominations presented by the Medical Student and Resident Leadership Councils.


The 2017 award is presented to Laura Doan, MD, Kaiser Los Angeles Family Medicine Residency Program. Laura has served as a student and resident leader at the CAFP, actively engaged in advocacy, planning for the Family Medicine Summits, serving as a delegate at the National Conference for Residents and Students, and encouraging her peers to get involved.


One of her nomination letters said “I met Laura in the “Scandal Room.” I was a 3rd year resident attending CAFP’s advocacy meeting at the Citizen Hotel. On Sunday, we gathered in the aptly named atrium of the hotel for a meet-and-greet with state senator Kevin Dé Leon. The issue was graduate medical education funding, and as a resident, I was just learning about the topic. I joined the conversation, lead by a confident and bright medical student from UC Irvine. Laura’s passion shone through as she discussed the issue with Senator Dé Leon, educating him about what it meant to be a resident, how many hours are spent in patient care, working in underserved settings, and other details. I was impressed to hear her discuss so fervently as just a medical student. Immediately, I knew we needed to recruit her to be part of our residency program.”


We are so pleased to name Laura our 2017 Resident of the Year.

Past Recipients

    2016: Alex Mroszczyk-McDonald, MD
2015: Aaron Edelstein, MD, MBA 2013: Raul Ayala, MD 2011: Ashby Wolfe, MD
2014: Daniel Pio, MD 2012: Alisha Dyer, MD;
Charlene Hauser, MD; and
Randi Sokol, MD
2010: Veronica Jordan, MD