Skip to main content



january 16, 2018



Will You Join Our Celebration?

Join your Academy as we celebrate two important milestones in 2018 - 70 years and 10,000 members. Our year-long celebration, 70 Years … 10,000 Stories, centers on our members’ unique stories about family medicine, their passions, patients, training, mentors and much more. Your story is the next one we need to create a rich and beautiful tapestry of the diverse voices of our members. Stories can be in the form of written narratives, audio or video recordings, photographs, illustrations, poems – anything that fires your imagination! Send your story to We can’t wait to hear from you! Read this week’s stories and get more information on submitting yours.



Register for the 2018 Coding Teleconference Today!

Ensure you and your staff know every intricacy of the new, edited and deleted Current Procedures Terminology (CPT) codes for 2018 so you are paid fully and fairly for the care you provide. “Strategies for Coding and Reimbursement: 2018 CPT Updates,” CAFP’s popular teleconference with coding and practice management expert Mary Jean Sage, will be held Wednesday, January 24, 2018 from 12:15 to 1:45 pm. The goals of this event are to:


  • Enhance provider understanding of changes to CPT codes, including additions, deletions and edits;
  • Improve practice documentation of visits and procedures;
  • Discuss how to implement and report Medicare Telehealth Services; and
  • Enhance provider awareness of new beneficiary Medicare cards beginning in 2018.

    We also will make available a copy of our coding supplement with new content for 2018. Registration is the low price of $49 for CAFP members and $79 for non-members. Additionally, all participants will receive 1.5 hours of Prescribed credit. Sign up online today or contact CAFP at 415-345-8667 for more information.



    Tick-Tock…Time to Register for the AMAM and Make Your Hotel Reservation

    Register for the All Member Advocacy Meeting (AMAM) today and plan to participate in Family Medicine Lobby Day on March 12 as well. As of the December 18 deadline, five resolutions were received. They will be posted in early February on the CAFP website, along with the meeting schedule, and sent out in the Participants’ Handbook to all registered attendees at about the same time. A mobile app for the meeting also will be available.


    The deadline to reserve the CAFP rate of $169 (plus tax, of course) at The Citizen Hotel in Sacramento for the AMAM, March 10-11, 2018 is February 9. You may book your group rate for California Academy of Family Physicians online or call the hotel at 877-781-8559 and identify yourself as a CAFP AMAM attendee. CAFP’s group rate is good from March 6-15 in the event you’d like to vacation in Sacramento!


    While Prescribed credit will be offered at the AMAM, you can get a couple of extra credits by attending the Sacramento-El Dorado Academy of Family Physicians continuing professional development program on opioids on Saturday morning, March 10 from 9-11 am. Faculty will knock your socks off and you’ll get two credits toward your 2018 total. Online registration will be available soon. Questions on any of the above? Contact us at or 415-345-8667.



    CAFP Helps Secure More than $23 Million for FMRPs

    At the recent Song-Brown Physician Training Program funding meeting, California family medicine residency programs (FMRPs) received more than $23 million (77 percent) of the $30 million disbursed to primary care residency programs as part of the first year of a three-year $100 million State Budget investment. CAFP and its advocacy partners helped secure the State Budget appropriation in 2016 and helped defend it in 2017, with the first grants to be delivered in 2018.


    The funding meeting was not without its challenges. Discrepancies in application design and scoring methodology left several worthy residency programs with incorrect scores. CAFP and the CAFP Residency Network looked to correct those discrepancies at the January 10 Song-Brown meeting and helped the California Workforce Policy Commission (the group that awards Song-Brown grants) improve the application and scoring process so that similar discrepancies do not occur in future years.



    January 2018 Member of the Month Tipu Khan, MD, FAAFP

    Congratulations to our January Member of the Month, Dr. Tipu Khan! Dr. Khan is a graduate of the University of Washington School of Medicine and completed his residency at Harbor UCLA followed by an obstetrics fellowship at USC. He is core faculty at the Ventura County Family Medicine Residency Program and an Assistant Clinical Professor of Medicine at UCLA. An engaged member of CAFP and the Ventura Chapter for the past decade, Dr. Khan developed an outpatient Hepatitis C treatment program using novel medications and, in addition to screening and treating patients in-clinic, is now teaching this process to residents who will take this specific skill with them to the communities they will serve. Dr. Khan recently launched a GoFundMe campaign that raised more than $50,000 to support doctors and residents who lost their homes in the devastating Ventura County fires.



    Physicians Participating in CMS’ QPP Now Can Report Their 2017 Data

    Are you participating in the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services’ (CMS) Quality Payment Program (QPP)? If so, CMS has announced that participating doctors can now submit their 2017 performance data using their new system on the QPP website. Eligible physicians may qualify for a payment bonus. If you’re unsure if you’re eligible to participate in QPP, use CMS’ handy participation status tool. For additional questions related to QPP, check out CAFP's QPP Playbook or contact CAFP staff member Conrad Amenta.



    Covered California Deadline for February 1 Coverage Extended to January 19

    The plan selection deadline for a February 1, 2018 coverage start date has been extended to Friday, January 19. Enrollment in health care coverage for the new year is available until January 31, 2018.


    In regard to the federal tax law that passed in December 2017, the benefits related to consumer's Covered California coverage, including financial help to reduce monthly premiums, has NOT changed for 2018. The penalty also remains in effect for 2018 coverage. The only change is the tax penalty will no longer be in effect beginning in 2019.



    Saying Good-Bye

    We are sad to announce that CAFP Manager of Medical Practice Affairs Sonia Kantak left the Academy last week. Sonia had been with CAFP nearly three years and in that time was actively engaged in the CAFP100, Medical Practice Affairs Committee, Medicare intermediary meetings, Practice Management News and resources, and most recently as one of the managers of the Ready to Lead leadership program. Sonia is leaving us to return to school in Southern California. She’ll be studying data science, with a focus on health care data. We wish her well. For the foreseeable future, please direct any medical practice affairs questions to Conrad Amenta.